Why ‘Vegan’ is Not a Dirty Word

Recently I’ve been watching a lot of YouTube videos on Veganism. Whether this is procrastination from my looming examination dates or not (it totally is) I really feel as if I have entered some kind of renaissance period in my life in finally realising that, oh sh**, animals are exploited so that people can make money. It was only through making this unbelievably obvious realisation that I began to unpick periods in my life where I have actively thought that consuming animal products was wrong, but didn’t know what to do about it. Flashback to when I was around eight years old and asked my adult peers, “is Lamb actually made from baby sheep?” and the shock that ensued after this fact appeared not vomit inducing but adorable to them, chuckling and assuring me that it’s okay because “the lambs are at least six months old when they’re slaughtered, and we only eat free range anyway” as if that means that they aren’t still killed when they are literally babies. Flashback again to late last year when I questioned the ethics of milk production and, I sh** you not, I was told that “the cows like being milked” and this idea was agreed with by EVERYONE IN THE ROOM. Who would ‘like’ to be milked? Because to me the concept of being hooked up to a breast pump after having my baby stripped away from me to either be slaughtered or to endure the same industrialised and clinical existence as my own does not sound particularly fun, in fact it sounds violating.

Through being lactose intolerant and accustomed to milk alternatives anyway I was already relatively educated in the fact that, in addition to milk production being a hugely exploitative industry, the ingestion of animal milk is just plain unhealthy. The fact is that milk is not for human consumption with its health benefits being greatly outweighed by its negatives as ‘up to 400,000 million somatic (pus) cells are legally allowed in each litre of milk sold in the UK’*. Yes, you did read that right – when you drink that delicious milkshake you are in fact ingesting pus into your system…and you wonder why you feel so run down all the time. So, why is it that being a vegan is such a dirty word in our culture when it is the only lifestyle which is fundamentally clean? I really don’t know, but I do believe that, whatever your dietary preference, it is insurmountably important that you educate yourself on what you are eating and where it is coming from and begin researching healthier and more ethical alternatives before you tell me that I’m the weird one.

Here are some links to help you on your way to a cleaner and less inhumane existence:

PhysiciansCommittee article on the link between dairy and cancer/increased mortality rates: http://www.pcrm.org/health/health-topics/milk-consumption-and-prostate-cancer

*White Lies article on the pus cells in UK dairy: http://www.whitelies.org.uk/are-you-taking-the-pus

Inspirational Vegan YouTube channels: https://www.youtube.com/user/Freelea/videos, https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOu3SAozsyQyKE2wDAIJtdQ, https://www.youtube.com/user/MangoIslandMamma1

Makeup brands to avoid: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PoCdwrPUu2I

Makeup brands to support: http://www.logicalharmony.net/cruelty-free-vegan-brand-list/#axzz41fL95sKS

Leave a Reply

