I have been here for three weeks and this is what I think.

So Strode College then. As you may be aware if you can bear to tear your eyes away from your modern new-fangled mobile telephones for a moment, this is where you happen to be. It’s a college. In Street. Not Strode. Strode isn’t actually a place, or if it is, it isn’t here. There you go, learned something already. Never let it be said you aren’t getting your money’s worth for your tuition fees.

Don't leave your mouse here, you don't know where this picture's been.

Beware of imitations.

I’ve played the further education game before, and the higher education one too for that matter, but now because of various circumstances that aren’t any of your business, I find myself here on a part-time accountancy course. Which is fine. Uses up half a day. Well, technically, it uses up a whole day since the bus goes in the morning and then I’ve got to hang around until the afternoon for my actual classes. Anyway, what follows is what I think of this place now that I’m starting to find my feet.

I'm not going to pretend that this isn't a desperate gag, it is what it is.

If you are also struggling to find your feet, they are usually located towards the southern end of your legs.

To be honest, the first thing that struck me is that it’s a bit small. As in, low ceilings and suchlike. Makes the place seem more crowded than it probably actually is. Now that I think about it, that might be a clever ploy to trick the government into giving the college more funding than normal. Clever, board of governors, but not quite clever enough. You’ll have to get up pretty early in the afternoon to catch this one unawares, oh yes.

Come on, there are worse things to stare at whilst reading an article, aren't there?

I was told this article needed more pictures. Deal with it.

Walking around, it does seem like every third person has their hair dyed into some unnatural colour. Which is fine. Self-expression and all that, go mad. It’s just that I’ve never seen such a concentration of that sort of thing in one place before. And don’t give me anything about a privileged upbringing, if anything it was an isolated upbringing. Which is hardly a privilege at all. T’ain’t my fault I’ve got no idea of how the wider world operates.

Right, that’s enough rambling for now, I’ve got a class to go to. Tune in next week for the next thrilling instalment, if you can stand the suspense*.

*This might possibly be sarcasm. Maybe.

