IT’S CHRISTMAAAAAAAAAAAS!

It’s that time of year again; the festive season has officially begun. Each year, as Christmas looms upon us, I can’t help but note there are two types of people: those who hate Christmas, and those who love it.

2995377351_f2f6f02e30

I’m sure you know what I mean; we all get those people come up to us saying “Only 35 days, 7 hours and 34 minutes to Christmas!” and then those who come up to us saying “What’s the bloody point in this Christmas malarkey?”.

Me? Well I’m not really sure what I am; I mean, I’m more than happy to sit there eating my own weight chocolate with a Santa hat on, but I’m not sure my festive spirit is as strong as others.

For example, I seem to be the only one in my neighbourhood who isn’t hell-bent on turning the street into a Christmass-y Las Vegas with thousands of lights. It seems as if they’re all trying to out-do each other, and as a result I have to try and sleep at night with a luminous glow shining through my curtains from the nativity scene opposite my house.

I also don’t enjoy some of the Christmas songs. I’m talking about the likes of Wizzard and Slade whose songs get played to death each and every Christmas. I’m sorry but there is only one Christmas song that I am happy to listen to over and over again, and that is “Fairytale of New York” by The Pogues. A true drunkard’s song!

Maybe I don’t enjoy Christmas as much because I know Santa Claus doesn’t exist. However, looking back on things I’m glad he doesn’t since apparently “he knows when you are sleeping” and “he knows when you’re awake”. If he did exist then I personally would have alerted the authorities a long time ago.

And since you’re not a kid anymore you also have to buy presents for people. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy buying people things it’s just I’m not entirely sure what to get them. I go for the standard, unimaginative box of chocolates normally – basically if I have to buy someone a present and they don’t like chocolate then I’m in trouble.

However, the much more enjoyable flip-side to giving presents is that you also receive them! As I’ve mentioned before I’m not a child anymore but I still get excited when I see all of those different shaped presents under the tree in the morning. Even the horrid jumper you always get from your Nan is sure to raise a chuckle.

Actually, that’s an unfair comment; she got me a cardigan last year.

Staying positive, who doesn’t enjoy a good Christmas movie? Everyone has their favourite, whether it’s “Love Actually” or “Die Hard”. By the way, if you’re flicking through the channels on your TV and you find “Home Alone” and you keep flicking then you’re doing Christmas wrong.

And then there’s the food. Is there any other day of the year where you can eat a massive roast dinner and then follow it up by gobbling down loads of chocolate without being judged?

Actually yes, now that I think about it I definitely am a Christmas lover. In fact, I can’t wait for the 25th of December! And I hope you have a very merry Christmas yourself and get lots of presents (if it’s from me, it’ll be chocolate!)

Leave a Reply

