Fads

Millions of people tuned in to watch the 50th anniversary special of Doctor Who. Whilst I never really watched the series – neither the original or newer series – I can understand the hype behind it from the fans.

Some were left satisfied with the episode whilst some were disappointed, but there’s no denying that it was the defining point in the show’s history. That is, high viewing figures – over 10 million at its peak – with plenty of debate and discussion following that.

It’s safe to say that Doctor Who is one of the biggest “fads” of this generation – and a couple of others as well. That’s a generation where it rivals other huge franchises such as Twilight, Harry Potter, and even One Direction (yep, you may hate them but their fanbase is one of the most prominent that there’s ever been).

fads

So what exactly makes a “fad”? How exactly does one start? A recent example other than Doctor Who could be The Hunger Games. The buzz of the sequel to the original film is overwhelming, and I have been involved in at least 6239 conversations about it in the past week – most of them started by the same person.

So maybe that’s what it is: word of mouth. After all, if you are part of a “fad” or “fanmily” (one of the worst coinages of the 21st century by the way) then the chances are you first heard of it from a friend or fellow member of said “fanmily”. God I hate that word…

Maybe fanbases are forced because nowadays people feel so pressured into being a part of something, pressured into being defined by a film, tv show or band. It’s almost as if the members of the fanbase are constantly advertising for you to join theirs. “Hey, are you a Directioner?” No, and I don’t plan to be.

That’s one of the main cons of these fanbases in my opinion; people feel obligated to join or they’ll be outcasts. And once they do enrol, they constantly try and out-do each other as to who is the biggest fan. “I’ve watched Doctor Who 236972 times this week!” “I’ve got every single DVD they’ve released, including the limited edition!” “I’ve got Matt Smith’s toenail clippings!” It’s madness.

It seems like the times where we can just sit down and enjoy something are over; apparently if you don’t have every single piece of over-priced merchandise a band has released you don’t really like them.

Well I’m not buying into it. I’m just going to listen to the music I want to listen to, watch the films I want to watch, and watch the TV shows I want to watch. I simply refuse to be defined by some silly fan base.

Written by: xxxBelieberLuvsJustin748xxx

Sidenote: I watched the Doctor Who special. I had no idea what was going on but I can conclude that David Tennant is cool and I want my own Tardis.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

