Com’on it’s Christmas!

Here’s another old post from before Christmas by Strode A2 student Ashleigh Rigden

Dragging yourself out of your warm cosy bed and into the cold. You put on layer, upon layer, upon layer because to be honest it is bleeding freezing outside and you still want to be in bed. Never mind, get that a*se of yours in the festive spirit because it’s Christmas!
Christmas to me used to mean hiding under the duvet, terrified that a bloke with a big white beard and bright red winter gear was going to come into my room in the middle of the night unannounced… As he ‘knows when you are sleeping, he knows when you have been bad or good, so be good for goodness sake’. What does that even mean? –looking back at things like that now seemed pretty perverted, but when we are younger it’s as exciting as the idea of Disney land. But my god, when you woke up and there were a gazillion presents just for you and a Christmas turkey in the oven, trying to get to sleep all night was definitely worth it.

But what’s it like for us when we are older? A challenge. What does my Mum want? What does my Dad want?
And for the love of god what do I get for my friends?! Take a deep breath and remain calm, you can get through this time of year that puts such a strain on your marvelous brain. Just remember these three factors:
1. If they have been hinting about something, there is a strong probability that they want it.
2. Do you have a private joke with them? Consider getting them a something to do with this.
3. You know what? It’s the thought that counts, they will love whatever you get them (that yellow jumper –err maybe not!)

And we have to love Christmas trees, the best part is always putting the angel/star on top –but when it comes to me and my siblings, it is a fight to the death! In the end my Mother lets my sister do it. Brat.
Moving swiftly on I have just passed my driving test (can I get a hallelujah?!) and it is truly wonderful having the ability to go wherever I want, whenever I want. So this means I have been let loose on the world… So watch out! Anyway, Christmas lights –oh aren’t they lovely! As I drive from village to village I am dazzled by all of these sweet, twinkling lights. Like little fairies as I used to think (still do, be we all like a bit of fantasy in our lives). When the Christmas lights have been switched on you cannot help but think that it’s that time of year, Christmas is here and now we shall rejoice in song -or not, the choice in Christmas songs is really starting to get on my wicket… if I hear that X factor gets the Christmas number one again, well… I just won’t be happy I will give it that. Isn’t it someone else’s turn to get a shot at that Christmas number one spot? Must we download the X factor winners song by winners like Leon Jackson (who?) who to be fair get dropped from their label just after a year later when their album flops? Personally I love the X factor, it’s the highlight of my Saturday night, but you can’t help but think ‘DOWN WITH THE MONARCHY!’ when you hear the person who should not have won release their Christmas single. Simon Cowell is the Devil, end of. Only joking, but I do not like that his army of wannabe pop stars get the top spot. However on Christmas of 2009 Rage against the Machine achieved the Christmas number one with ‘Killing in the name’. It really was a crap song, but at least that year we got to kick Cowell in the balls and there was nothing he could do about it. As you can probably tell I don’t like that man, so I shall move on.

My personal favorite thing about Christmas is the movies. ‘Home Alone’ is one that you can’t help but watch as it’s always on the television this time of year and not to mention you can’t help but watch it and think ‘Oh no, you forgot Kevin!’ if that film was reality, that poor child would have been taken away by social services (sorry, but I’m just saying!). Also chick flicks like ‘Love Actually’ and ‘Bridget Jones’ for all us girlies –and some of you boys too. Then there are those classics like ‘The Grinch’ and ‘A Christmas Carol’, but we could go one forever with this list now couldn’t we?
This year enjoy your Christmas, tell your family you love them, don’t stress over presents you’re going to get everyone, don’t report the parents on ‘Home Alone’ and for goodness sake do not buy the X factor Christmas single! So Merry Christmas and a happy New Year 😀

Ashleigh Rigden

Leave a Reply

